Cannes 2022. Winners: Award-winning films and authors [Lista]

Made history at the Cannes Film Festival 2022. The Golden Palm was awarded the “Triangle of Sorrow” award to Robin Ostlund. At the same time, the Swede is the ninth director to twice receive the award for the most famous film.

This is the reason why we tied the closing ceremony of the 75th Film Festival in Wars >>>

The 75th jubilee of the Cannes Film Festival has come to an end. And the most important award of the evening – the Palme d’Or – was given to Robin Ostlund’s “Triangle of Grief”. The Swedish director also became the ninth creator to win the Palme d’Or twice. Earlier – in 2017 – he triumphed with “Arena”. Film critics and historians have described the most important award at the Cannes Film Festival as the film equivalent of the Nobel Prize for Literature.


As in the previous two films, in “The Triangle of Sorrow,” we deal with scathing satires from contemporary society. Because with Oestlund there is no privileged class – those who have the comfort of watching this movie on a daily basis will not feel comfortable. While Oestlund in “The Square” was mocking the art market elite, this time he is looking at the wealthy and influential who together are among those involved in an expensive yachting cruise.

As an experienced filmmaker, Oestlund creates many silly situations that not only amuse you, but also make you think. And although the attentive viewer will notice that the Swede uses the tools he has already tried in previous films, he uses them in different situations and with a slightly different purpose. And all this to break new agreements and new agreements. And the icing on the cake are the cast: Woody Harrelson, Charlie Dean and Harris Dickinson. While Harrelson is a well-known actor, it’s worth remembering them both in the case of Dean and Dickinson, because they would definitely be vocal about them.

Cannes Film Festival 2022 – Award Winning

The festival’s second most important prize – the Jury Grand Prix – went to two filmmakers. It was awarded to French cinema legend, director Claire Denis, and the Cannes main competition debutant Lukas Dhont for “Close”. In 2018, Dhont screened “The Girl” in the Un Certain Regard section and won, among other things, the Golden Camera (for Best Debut at the Festival).

Read also: “Videos that can be stored in the Cannes 2022 main competition” >>>

The Jury Prize was also awarded by virtue of fairness. The films “Io” by Jerzy Skolimowski and “Le otto montagne” by Felix van Groeningen and Charlotte Vandermeersch were appreciated. This year, on the occasion of the anniversary, an additional special prize was awarded to the 75th Cannes Film Festival for the film “Torre and Lucita” by Jean-Pierre and Luc Dardenne.

“Tori and Lukita” dir. Jean-Pierre and Luc Dardenne Cannes Festival

The best actress was Zaar Amir Ibrahim, who starred in Ali Abbasi’s “Holy Spider”. The Best Actor award went to Sang Kang Ho for his role in Korei Eddie Hirokazu’s The Broker. Polish audiences may remember Sang from his father’s role in Bong Joon Ho’s famous “Parasite.”

The jury of the main competition of this year was headed by the French actor Vincent Lyndon, who may be known to Polish audiences from one of the main roles in the film “Titane” by Julia Docornau – winner of the Palme d’Or last year. At his side were: Rebecca Hall, Deepika Padukone, Noomi Rapas, Yasmine Trinca, Asghar Farhadi, Ladge Lee, Jeff Nichols and Joachim Trier.

Before the awards ceremony in the main competition, Lyndon noted that during the debate the jury was fully democratic, and each person had an equally important vote. He said that all awards were awarded by a majority vote.

Cannes 2022. Winners List

Golden Palm: “The Triangle of Grief” by Robin Ostlund
Grand Jury Prize: ex aequo Claire Denis for “Stars At Noon” and Lucas Donut for “Close”
Jury Prize: “Io” Jerzy Skolimowski and “Le otto montagne” directed by Felix van Groningen and Charlotte Vandermerch
75th Cannes Film Festival Award: “Torrey and Luketa” by Jean-Pierre and Luc Dardenne.
best directorPark Chan-wook: “Decision to leave”
best scenario: Tariq Salih “A Boy from Heaven” (Monastery of Tariq Salih).
Best Female Role: Amir Ibrahim visited the “Holy Spider” (Ali Abbasi Monastery)
Best Male Actor Caleb Landry Jones for his role in Justin Kurzel’s “Nitram”
Golden Palm short film: Jianying Chen “Water Puffs”
Golden Camera for Best Director: Pony War, directed by Riley Keough and Gina Gammell.

author:Tomas Marcin and Rona


Leave a Comment